June 2, 2023

The Honorable Gavin Newsom Governor, State of California State Capitol, First Floor Sacramento, CA 95814

The Honorable Nancy Skinner Chair, Senate Budget Committee 1021 O Street, Suite 8630 Sacramento, CA 95814

The Honorable Phil Ting Chair, Assembly Budget Committee 1021 O Street, Suite 8230 Sacramento, CA 95814 The Honorable Anthony Rendon Assembly Speaker State Capitol, Room 219 Sacramento, CA 95814

The Honorable Toni Atkins Senate President Pro Tempore 1021 O Street, Suite 8518 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Governor Newsom, Chair Senator Skinner, Chair Assemblymember Ting, Senate President Pro Tem Atkins, and Assembly Speaker Rendon,

Public transportation systems across California like BART, SFMTA, AC Transit, Caltrain, LA Metro and Metrolink, are facing major budget shortfalls in the aftermath of the pandemic. While the Governor and legislative leaders have acknowledged the need to address the funding shortfall, the latest budget proposals do not provide nearly enough. The Governor proposed no funding for the fiscal cliff and instead proposed cutting \$2 billion in transit capital funding - money that is critical to leveraging billions in federal funding for our transit systems' long term viability. The legislature's budget proposals restores that capital funding, but does almost nothing to support transit operations. If transit operations are not supported with significant new state funding, transit agencies will be forced to implement devastating service cuts from which they may never recover.

Massive transit service cuts will be a disaster for everyone. Low-income families that rely on public transit will become isolated from economic opportunity. Seniors will not be able to get to the hospital, and kids won't be able to get to school. Drivers across the state would face increased congestion as hundreds of thousands more riders are forced into unnecessary car trips. Downtowns will continue to hollow out, as businesses won't be able to attract workers or customers. And ultimately our planet will suffer from increased emissions at a time where our state should be leading the nation in addressing our climate emergency change.

As local elected leaders, we know how much our communities, constituents and local businesses rely on transit. That's why we urge you to craft a budget solution that avoids massive transit service cuts, and implement critical reforms that put transit agencies on a path to fiscal sustainability and to better serve Californians in the future.

Sincerely,

Nick Josefowitz David Rabbitt

Vice-Chair, MTC Supervisor, County of Sonoma

Jen Wolosin Susan Noack

Mayor, City of Menlo Park Councilmember, City of Pleasant Hill,

Commissioner (Contra Costa County), MTC

Rebecca Saltzman

BART Director, District 3 Victoria Fleming

Council Member Santa Rosa

Rashi Kesarwani

Councilmember, City of Berkeley Eddie Ahn

Commissioner (San Francisco County),

Carolyn Wysinger MTC

Councilmember, City Of El Cerrito

Libby Schaaf

Rigel Robinson MTC Commissioner

Councilmember, City of Berkeley Former Mayor, City of Oakland

Mark Humbert Margaret Abe-Koga

Councilmember, City of Berkeley Councilmember, City of Mountain View

Terry Taplin Jesse Arreguin

Councilmember, City of Berkeley Mayor, City of Berkeley

Paul Fadelli Matt Dorsey

Councilmember, City of El Cerrito Supervisor (District 6), City and County of

San Francisco

Devin Murphy

Mayor, City of Pinole Hillary Ronen

Supervisor (District 9), City and County of

Jim Spering San Francisco

Commissioner (Solano County), MTC

Nate Miley

Supervisor (District 4), Alameda County

Mayor Pro Tem, City of El Cerrito

Tessa Rudnick

Diane Shaw Princess Washington

Board of Directors (Ward 5), AC Transit Mayor Pro Tem, City of Suisun City

David Oro Buenaflor Nicolas

Councilmember, City of American Canyon Mayor, City of South San Francisco

Sergio Lopez David Cohen

Councilmember, City of Campbell Councilmember, City of San Jose

Carlos Romero Kalimah Priforce

Councilmember, City of East Palo Alto

Councilmember At-Large, City of

Emeryville

Stacy Jimenez

Councilmember, Foster City Kevin McDonnell

Mayor, City of Petaluma

Jen Caenaugh
Mayor, City of Piedmont
Rafael Mandelman

Supervisor (District 8), City and County of

Laura Nakamura San Francisco

Councilmember, City of Concord

Rita Xavier

Omar Din Councilmember, City of San Pablo

Vice Mayor, City of Sunnyvale

Maria Doerr Councilmember, City of Half Moon Bay

Deborah Ruddock

Councilmember, City of Menlo Park

Sophie Hahn
Victor Aguilar
Councilmember, City of

Victor Aguilar Councilmember, City of Berkeley Councilmember, City of San Leandro

Andy Kelley

Ariel Kelley Boardmember, Rent Stabilization Board,

Mayor, City of Healdsburg City of Berkeley

Amit Pal John Dugan

Councilmember, City of Suisun City Vice Mayor, City of San Carlos

Marilyn Ezzy Ashcraft

Mayor, City of Alameda

John Bauters

Mayor, City of Emeryville

Tom Hamilton

Vice Mayor, City of San Bruno

Dan Kalb

Councilmember, City of Oakland

Cameron Sasai

Councilmember, City of Pinole

Terry Taplin

Councilmember (District 2), City of

Berkeley

Dennis Pocekay

Councilmember, City of Petaluma

Aaron Peskin

President, Board of Supervisors, City and

County of San Francisco

Janice Li

Board President, BART

Christine Krolik

Mayor, Town of Hillsborough

Steve Young

Mayor, City of Benicia

Kate Harrison

Councilmember, City of Berkeley

Stephen Zollman

Councilmember, City of Sebastopol

Claudia Jimenez

Councilmember (District 6), City of

Richmond

Larry Klein

Mayor, City of Sunnyvale

Soheila Bana

Councilmember, City of Richmond

Zach Hilton

Councilmember, City of Gilroy

Alison Hicks

Mayor, City of Mountain View

**Eddie Flores** 

Councilmember (District 5), City of South

San Francisco

Maureen Toms

Vice Mayor, City of Pinole

Max Perrey

Councilmember, City of Mill Valley

Celina Reynes

Councilmember, City of San Leandro