Table of Contents

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS		 •	•					. i	i
BOARD MEMBERS								. i	ii
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY					•			. i	iii
CHAPTER 1: Legislative and Business Planning Overview									1
CHAPTER 2: Equity Framework Summary								. (9
CHAPTER 3: Funding Programs									17
CHAPTER 4: Operations and Organizational Sustainability Pla	ın							. :	29
CHAPTER 5: Conclusion								. 4	51
APPENDIX 1: Equity Framework								. !	53
APPENDIX 2: Equity Framework Accompanying Materials								. (93
2A. Definitions									1
2B. Equity Working Group				•				. ;	3
2C. Stakeholder Engagement Report				•				. 4	4
2D. Guiding Questions for Program Development and Design	٦.			•				. '	18
2E. Data Sources for Metrics									22
APPENDIX 3: Funding Programs									12 ⁻
3A. Multifamily Rental Production Program									1
3B. Innovation Program									11
3C. Preservation Program									19
3D. Tenant Protections Program								_ ;	30



Residential housing, San Mateo County Photo: Karl Nielsen

Acknowledgements

Support for the Business Plan was provided by a consultant team including Forsyth Street Advisors, Bonnewit Development Services, the Othering and Belonging Institute and the Terner Housing Innovation Labs at the University of California, Berkeley, and Sperry Capital. Special thanks to the members of the Equity Working Group for their partnership in developing the Equity Framework and refining the Funding Programs; their names are listed in Appendix 2B. Additional thanks to the hundreds of local government staff, finance specialists, housing developers, service providers, advocates and Bay Area residents who shared their time and expertise during interviews and other stakeholder engagement.

Board Members

Bay Area Housing Finance Authority/Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Alfredo Pedroza, Chair

Supervisor, County of Napa

Nick Josefowitz, Vice Chair

San Francisco Mayor's Appointee

Margaret Abe-Koga

Cities of Santa Clara County

Eddie H. Ahn

San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission

David Canepa

San Mateo County

Cindy Chavez

Santa Clara County

Carol Dutra-Vernaci Cities of Alameda County Dina El-Tawansy

California State Transportation Agency

Victoria Fleming

Sonoma County and Cities

Dorene Giacopini

U.S. Department of Transportation

Federal D. Glover

Contra Costa County

Matt Mahan

San José Mayor's Appointee

Nate Miley

Alameda County

Stephanie Moulton-Peters

Marin County and Cities

Sue Noack

Cities of Contra Costa County

Gina Papan

Cities of San Mateo County

David Rabbitt

Association of Bay Area Governments

Hillary Ronen

City and County of San Francisco

Libby Schaaf

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

James P. Spering

Solano County and Cities

Sheng Thao

Oakland Mayor's Appointee

Association of Bay Area Governments Executive Board

Belia Ramos, President

Supervisor, County of Napa

Jesse Arreguin, Vice President

Mayor, City of Berkeley

David Rabbitt, Immediate

Past President

Supervisor, County of Sonoma

Susan Hollingsworth Adams

Vice Mayor, City of Rohnert Park

Candace Andersen

Supervisor, County of Contra Costa

Nikki Fortunato Bas

Councilmember, City of Oakland

London Breed, Mayor

City and County of San Francisco

Ken Carlson

Supervisor, Contra Costa County

David Cohen

Councilmember, City of San José

Noelia Corzo

Supervisor, County of San Mateo

Pat Eklund

Councilmember, City of Novato

Susan Ellenberg

Supervisor, County of Santa Clara

Carroll Fife

Councilmember, City of Oakland

Neysa Fligor

Councilmember, City of Los Altos

Leon Garcia

Mayor, City of American Canyon

Rich Hillis

Planning Director, City and County of San Francisco

Rosemary Kamei

Vice Mayor, City of San José

Otto Lee

Supervisor, County of Santa Clara

Rafael Mandelman

Supervisor, City and County of San Francisco

Elisa Marquez

Supervisor, County of Alameda

Yvonne Martinez-Beltran

Councilmember, City of Morgan Hill

Myrna Melgar

Supervisor, City and County of San Francisco

Nate Miley

Supervisor, County of Alameda

Lisa Motoyama

Councilmember, City of El Cerrito

Catherine Moy

Mayor, City of Fairfield

Mark Nagales

Councilmember, City of South San Francisco

Peter Ortiz

Councilmember, City of San José

Treva Reid

Councilmember, City of Oakland

Carlos Romero

Councilmember, City of East Palo Alto

Mary Sackett

Supervisor, County of Marin

Cindy Silva

Councilmember, City of Walnut Creek

Aaron Tiedemann

Councilmember, City of Albany

Wanda Williams

Supervisor, County of Solano

Vacant

County of San Mateo

Vacant

City and County of San Francisco (Board of Supervisors)

Vacant

City and County of San Francisco (Board of Supervisors)

Donald Young,

Advisory Member

San Francisco Bay Regional Water Quality Control Board