

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

# **Meeting Minutes**

# **Metropolitan Transportation Commission**

Alfredo Pedroza, Chair Nick Josefowitz, Vice Chair

# Chair Pedroza called the meeting to order.

# 1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

- Present:16 -Chair Pedroza, Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner<br/>Ahn, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci,<br/>Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Mahan,<br/>Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Noack,<br/>Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Ronen, and Commissioner Spering
- Absent: 2 Commissioner Rabbitt, and Commissioner Thao

Vice Chair Josefowitz and Commissioner Fleming were absent during the roll call and arrived during agenda item 5.

Non-Voting Commissioners Present: Commissioner Giacopini and Commissioner Schaaf

Non-Voting Commissioner Absent: Commissioner El-Tawansy

# 2. Pledge of Allegiance/ Acknowledgement of the Flag

# 3. Compensation Announcement (Clerk)

# 4. Chair's Report

4a. <u>23-1200</u> Ratification of Regional Network Management Council

Action: Commission Approval

Upon the motion by Commissioner Spering and seconded by Commissioner Abe-Koga, the Commission unanimously ratified the Regional Network Management Council membership as outlined in Attachment A of this item. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 14 Chair Pedroza, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Spering
- Absent: 4 Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Rabbitt and Commissioner Thao

## 5. Policy Advisory Council Report

Vice Chair Josefowitz and Commissioner Fleming arrived during agenda item 5.

Randi Kinman, Policy Advisory Council Chair, gave the report.

5a. <u>23-1094</u> Policy Advisory Council Report

Action: Information

#### 6. Executive Director's Report

**6a.** <u>23-1095</u> Executive Director's Report

Action: Information

Andrew Fremier, Executive Director, gave the report.

#### 7. Commissioner Comments

8. Consent Calendar

# Upon the motion by Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci and seconded by Commissioner Noack, the Commission unanimously approved the Consent Calendar by the following vote:

- Aye: 16 Chair Pedroza, Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Spering
- Absent: 2 Commissioner Rabbitt and Commissioner Thao
- 8a.23-1096Approval of Commission Minutes of the July 26, 2023 Meeting

Action: Commission Approval

- 8b.23-1192MTC Resolution No. 4605. Establishment of Process for Approval of<br/>Design Plans and Procedures for Delegation of Approval Authority.
  - Action: Commission Approval
  - Presenter: Kathleen Kane

# Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

 8c.
 23-1074
 MTC Resolution No. 3931, Revised - Policy Advisory Council Appointments

 Action:
 MTC Commission Approval

 Presenter:
 Ky-Nam Miller

#### **Programming and Allocations Committee**

8d.22-1771MTC Resolution No. 4545, Revised. 2023 Transportation Improvement<br/>Program (TIP) Amendment 2023-18.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Adam Crenshaw

8e.23-0908MTC Resolution Nos. 4444, Revised and 4510, Revised. Transit Capital<br/>Priorities Program Revisions FYs 2021-22 - 2023-24

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Margaret Doyle

- 8f. 23-0953 MTC Resolution No. 4321, Revised. Revision to MTC Resolution No. 4321, State Transit Assistance (STA) and State of Good Repair Program Programming and Allocation Policy, to identify regional fare policy programs as a priority for the STA Regional Program, temporarily suspend performance measures for small and medium sized operators, and make other minor terminology updates.
  - Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Raleigh McCoy

- 8g.23-1033MTC Resolution Nos. 4202, Revised and 4505, Revised. Various<br/>revisions to the One Bay Area Grant programs (OBAG 2 and 3), including<br/>programming \$4.7 million to MTC for Active Transportation Technical<br/>Assistance and reprogramming \$450,000 within the OBAG 2 Santa Clara<br/>County Program; as well as an informational update on FY2022-23 federal<br/>apportionment exchange agreements.
  - Action: Commission Approval

<u>Presenter:</u> Thomas Arndt

8h.23-1085MTC Resolution No. 4584, Revised. Allocation of \$5 million in Regional<br/>Measure 3 (RM3) capital funds to Central Contra Costa Transit Authority<br/>(CCCTA)

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Julieth Ortiz

8i. 23-1092 MTC Resolution Nos. 4570, Revised; 4571, Revised; 4572, Revised; and 4524, Revised. The proposed action allocates FY2022-23 State Transit Assistance (STA) funds to five transit operators, and allocates FY2023-24 Transportation Development Act (TDA), State Transit Assistance (STA), and Regional Measure 2 (RM2) revenue to six transit operators.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Luis Garcia

#### **Committee Reports**

#### 9. Programming and Allocations Committee (Chavez)

9a.23-1024MTC Resolution No. 4603. Policies and Procedures for the 2024 Regional<br/>Transportation Improvement Program (RTIP)

Adoption of the Policies and Procedures for the 2024 RTIP, which includes approximately \$214 million in new programming capacity for the Bay Area

- Action: Commission Approval
- Presenter: Karl Anderson

Upon the motion by Commissioner Chavez and seconded by Commissioner Moulton-Peters, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 4603 and directed staff to provide a follow-up write up to Commissioners before the next meeting that more clearly outlines the time frames and the implications of upcoming policy actions relative to upcoming projects. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 16 Chair Pedroza, Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Spering
- Absent: 2 Commissioner Rabbitt and Commissioner Thao

#### **10.** Public Comment / Other Business

#### 11. Adjournment / Next Meetings:

Chair Pedroza adjourned the meeting.