Agenda Item 7a









































December 7, 2023

Dear Fare Integration Task Force members, Transit Agency Board Members, and MTC Commissioners,

Thank you very much for advancing the Clipper BayPass all-agency transit pass pilot, expanding from the initial participant base of public higher education and affordable communities to include up to 10 employers and transportation management associations with up to 20,000 participants.

We are very pleased to see the dramatic success of the first phase of the BayPass pilot showing a 35% increase in transit ridership among people whose access was expanded from a single agency to all agencies, improving mobility for people, helping the transit system regrow ridership, and advancing our region's goals on climate, equity and congestion relief.

Our organizations strongly believe that an all-agency institutional pass is one of the fastest and most meaningful options available to the region to regrow transit ridership and expand access to the transit system. While we are glad that this next phase of the pilot is advancing we urge MTC and transit operators to maintain their focus on this effort and to work expediently toward a full scale launch and region-wide formalization of the BayPass program as soon as possible. We understand that this will require formalizing a pricing and revenue distribution structure for the program as well as addressing long term implications for existing institutional pass programs.

We are confident that MTC and operators can come together to creatively overcome these implementation hurdles without further delay or compromise to the overall program. The need to rebuild ridership and strengthen public trust in the region's transit system is an imperative and mutual responsibility that all operators share. Transit is not on a sustainable course and the need for public investment in the system has never been greater- showing that we have the capacity to work together and change is essential.

Thank you for your consideration,

John Ristow San Jose Department of Transportation	Amy Buckmaster Chamber San Mateo County	Alyssa Sherman Salesforce
lan Griffiths Seamless Bay Area	Amy Thomson TransForm	Laura Tolkoff SPUR
Tiffany Rodriguez San Jose State Associated Students	Dave Sorrell Association of Commuter Transportation	Adina Levin Friends of Caltrain
Ewan Barker Plummer San Francisco Youth Commission	Sonoma County Climate Activist Network	Russell Hancock Joint Venture Silicon Valley

Laura Hill Bay Area Council

Justine Burt Roni
Palo Alto TMA Mou

Roni Hattrup

Mountain View TMA

John Ford

Commute.org

Lucy Gigli Alameda TMA

LOGOS AND SIGNERS FROM PREVIOUS LETTER - NEED TO UPDATE FOR CURRENT LETTER





























Silicon Valley
Independent Living Center
a disability justice organization
that creates fully inclusive communities











Additional co-signing organization logos continue on pages 2 and 3

































Additional co-signing organization logos continued from page 1













































Additional co-signing organization logos continued from pages 1 and 2

Adina Levin Jonathon Kass, Transportation Policy Manager

Friends of Caltrain SPUR

Ian Griffiths, Policy Director Roseanne Foust, President & CEO

Seamless Bay Area San Mateo County Economic Development

Association (SAMCEDA)

for San Mateo County

Gwen Litvak Jordon Wing

Bay Area Council Streets for People Bay Area

John Ristow Diane Bailey, Executive Director

Director of Transportation, City of San Jose Menlo Spark

Tiffany Rodriguez, Petra Silton

Manager, Transportation Solutions, Thrive Alliance: The Alliance of Non-profits

Associated Students, San Jose State University

•

Angie Evans Riya Master

Palo Alto Forward External Affairs Vice President, Associated

Students of the University of California

Kelsey Banes Kristina Pappas, President

Peninsula for Everyone San Francisco League of Conservation Voters

Evelyn Stivers Jack Kurzweil

Housing Leadership Council of San Mateo Wellstone Democratic Renewal Club

County

Sheri Bruns Jeffrey Levin, Policy Director

Living Center

Vanessa Bohm Michael Abramson

Urban Environmentalists Mountain View YIMBY

Debbie Toth, President & CEO Helena Chang, Advocacy Program Manager

Choice in Aging The Center for Independent Living (TheCIL)

Bruce England Greg Magofña, Co-Executive

Mountain View Coalition for Sustainable

Planning

East Bay for Everyone

Lauren Weston, Executive Director

Acterra: Action for a Healthy Planet

Jim Baker, CEO & Founder

Xentrans

Jason Baker

Silicon Valley Leadership Group

Marco Echeandia. Director of Sustainability **Associated Students of San Jose State**

University

Kathryn Hagerman Medina, Director, Customer

Success, RideAmigos

Antonio Maldonado. Director of Business Affairs

Associated Students of San Jose State

University

Debra Ballinger, Executive Director

Monument Impact

Zach Drucker

sf.citi

Rorbert Feinbaum

SaveMUNI

Jack Swearengen

Friends of SMART

Tina Martin

Mothers Out Front San Francisco

Hans Larsen. Public Works Director

City of Fremont

David Sorrell, TDM-CP

Northern California Chapter, Association for

Commuter Transportation

Justine Marcus

Enterprise Community Partners

Russ Hancock, President & CEO

Joint Venture Silicon Valley

Adam Thongsavat, Public Policy

Airbnb

Ahleli Cuenca

Youth Leadership Institute

Michael Gliksohn, Treasurer

Richmond Progressive Alliance

Nicole Kemeny, President

350 Silicon Valley

Marlene Santoyo **Menlo Together**

Carol Cross, Co-Convenor

Erin Chazer

Fossil Free Mid-Peninsula **Peninsula Young Democrats**

Bijan Mehryar Paul Fadelli

Salesforce Mayor, City of El Cerrito

Liore Milgrom-Gartner

CA Interfaith Power & Light

Rick Bonilla, Mayor

City of San Mateo

Scott Knies

San Jose Downtown Business Association

Nathan Ulsh

San Jose Downtown Business Association

Dave Campbell

Ethan Mizzi. Chair

Bike East Bay

South San Francisco Youth Commission

Jen Klose, Executive Director Calum Weeks, Policy Director **Generation Housing**

Warren Wells, Policy and Planning Director **Marin County Bicycle Coalition**

Jodie Medeiros, Executive Director Walk San Francisco

Duane Bay **EPA Can Do**