

Meeting Minutes

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

9:35 AM

Board Room - 1st Floor

1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 14 - Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commission Chair Cortese,

Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Haggerty, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Vice Chair Mackenzie, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering,

and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 4 - Commissioner Aquirre, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, and

Commissioner Schaaf

Non Voting Members Present: Commissioner Azumbrado, Commissioner Giacopini and Commissioner Sartipi.

2. Chair's Report - Cortese

3. 17-2268 Ad-Hoc Nominating Committee Report - Spering

Upon the motion by Commissioner Spering and second by Commissioner Glover, the Commission unanimously approved the Ad-Hoc Nominating Committee report to close the nominations as presented. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 12 - Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Cortese, Commissioner

Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Haggerty, Commissioner

Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Vice Chair Mackenzie, Commissioner Slocum,

Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 6 - Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Kim, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza, Commissioner Pierce and Commissioner Schaaf

3a. 17-2269 Election of new Chair & Vice Chair.

Action: Commission Approval

Upon the motion by Commissioner Spering and second by Commissioner Worth, the Commission unanimously approved the Ad Hoc Nominating Committee Recommendation of Commissioner Jake Mackenzie to serve as Chair and Commissioner Haggerty as Vice Chair for the next two years. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 14 - Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Haggerty, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Vice Chair Mackenzie, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 4 - Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza and Commissioner Schaaf

4. New Chair's Report -

4a. <u>17-2271</u> MTC Resolution No. 4270 - Resolution of Appreciation to Former Commission Chair Cortese.

Action: Commission Approval

Upon the motion by Chair Mackenzie and second by Commissioner Worth and all Commissioners present, the Commission unanimously adopted Resolution No. 4270. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 14 - Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Haggerty, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Vice Chair Mackenzie, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 4 - Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza and Commissioner Schaaf

Committee Assignments

Upon the motion by Commissioner Cortese and second by Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, the Commission unanimously approved to appoint current chairs and vice chairs of each committee as temporary committee chairs, vice chairs and members to continue to serve on all committees as currently stand, until appointed or re-appointed during the next regular Commission meeting on March 22, 2017. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 14 - Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Haggerty, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Vice Chair Mackenzie, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 4 - Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza and Commissioner Schaaf

- 5. Policy Advisory Council Report Randi Kinman
- 6. Executive Director's Report Heminger

Roland Lebrun was called to speak.

- 7. Commissioner Comments
- 8. Consent Calendar:

Approval of the Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Commissioner Pierce and second by Commissioner Halsted, the Commission unanimously adopted the Consent Calendar. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 14 - Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Haggerty, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Vice Chair Mackenzie, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and

Commissioner Worth

Absent: 4 - Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza and

Commissioner Schaaf

8a. 17-2270 Minutes - January 25, 2017.

Action: Commission Approval

Programming and Allocations Committee

8b. 17-2228 MTC Resolution No. 4275, Revised. 2017 Transportation Improvement

Program (TIP) Amendment 2017-06.

Action: Commission Approval

8c. 17-2232 MTC Resolution 4231. Allocation of \$2.8 million in State Transit Assistance

Lifeline funds to the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency to

support expanded late night service.

Action: Commission Approval

Committee Reports

9. Programming and Allocations Committee - Glover

9a. 17-2229 MTC Resolution No. 4268 - Fiscal Year 2017-18 Fund Estimate

Annual Fund Estimate and proposed apportionment and distribution of \$659 million in Transportation Development Act (TDA) Local Transportation Fund, State Transit Assistance (STA), Assembly Bill 1107 (AB 1107), transit-related bridge toll, and Low Carbon Transit Operations Program funds for FY 2017-18.

Action: Commission Approval

Upon the motion by Commissioner Glover and second by Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, the Commission unanimously adopted Resolution No. 4268. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 14 - Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Haggerty, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Vice Chair Mackenzie, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 4 - Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza and Commissioner Schaaf

9b. 17-2178 MTC Resolution Nos. 4169, Revised, 4202, Revised, 4262, 4263, and 4272. FY2016-17 through FY2019-20 Transit Capital Priorities Programming, AB 664 Bridge Toll Programming and Allocation, BATA Project Savings Programming Revisions, and OBAG 2 Programming Revisions.

Programming of nearly \$2.2 billion in FTA Formula Revenues, AB 664 Bridge Tolls, BATA Project Savings, and OBAG 2 funds for FY2016-17 through FY2019-20 for transit operator state-of-good-repair consistent with the Transit Capital Priorities Process and Criteria, including discussion of a proposed plan for financing against future FTA revenues.

Action: Commission Approval

Roland Lebrun was called to speak.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Glover and second by Commissioner Bruins, the Commission unanimously deferred action on Resolution Nos. 4169, Revised, 4202, Revised, 4262, 4263, and 4272. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 14 - Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Haggerty, Commissioner Halsted, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Kim, Vice Chair Mackenzie, Commissioner Pierce, Commissioner Slocum, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 4 - Commissioner Aguirre, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Pedroza and Commissioner Schaaf

10. Other Business / Public Comment

Jane Kramer was called to speak. Roland Lebrun was called to speak.

11. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Commission will be held on March 22, 2017 at 9:35 a.m. in the Board Room, Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA 94105.

Jake Mackenzie, Chair