

Meeting Minutes - Final

Joint MTC Planning Committee with the ABAG Administrative Committee

MTC Committee Members:

James P. Spering, Chair Eddie Ahn, Vice Chair

David Canepa, Damon Connolly, Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Victoria Fleming, Sam Liccardo, and Libby Schaaf

Non-Voting Members: Dorene M. Giacopini and Vacant

Friday, September 9, 2022 9:40 AM REMOTE

1. Call to Order

2. MTC Planning Committee Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 6 - Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Liccardo, Chair Spering, Vice Chair Ahn,

Commissioner Canepa and Commissioner Schaaf

Absent: 2 - Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci and Commissioner Fleming

Non-Voting Member Present: Commissioner Giacopini

Ex Officio Voting Member Present: Commission Vice Chair Josefowitz

Ad Hoc Non-Voting Member Present: Commissioner Worth

3. MTC Planning Committee Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Commissioner Connolly and second by Vice Chair Ahn, the MTC Planning Committee Consent Calendar was unanimously approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Commissioner Connolly, Chair Spering, Vice Chair Ahn, Commissioner Canepa and Commissioner Schaaf

Absent: 3 - Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci and Commissioner Fleming

3a. 22-1252 Approval of MTC Planning Committee Minutes of the July 8, 2022 Meeting

Action: MTC Planning Committee Approval

Attachments: 3a 2022-07-08 Joint MTC Planning Committee with the ABAG Ad

ministrative Committee Meeting Minutes Draft.pdf

Commissioner Liccardo arrived after the approval of the Consent Calendar.

4. ABAG Administrative Committee Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

ABAG Administrative Committee Members Present: Arreguin, Eklund, Fligor, Lee, Peralez, Ramos, and Romero.

5. ABAG Compensation Announcement - Clerk of the Board

6. ABAG Administrative Committee Consent Calendar

6a. <u>22-1251</u> Approval of ABAG Administrative Committee Summary Minutes of the July

8, 2022 Meeting

Action: ABAG Administrative Committee Approval

Attachments: 6a 2022-07-08 ABAG Administrative Committee Meeting Minutes

Draft.pdf

7. Information

7a. <u>22-1269</u> Climate Initiatives Program - Investment Options

Overview of programs recommended for investment to implement Plan Bay Area 2050 (PBA 2050) greenhouse gas emissions (GHG) reduction climate strategies leveraging near-term funding from MTC's One Bay Area Grant (OBAG 3) Program and the federal Carbon Reduction Program (CRP), a new formula-based program established through the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL).

Action: Information

Presenter: Therese Trivedi

Attachments: 7ai Climate Initiatives Investments Summary Sheet.pdf

7aii PowerPoint Climate Program Investments.pdf

Rich Hedges spoke on this item. Adina Levin spoke on this item. Randi Kinman spoke on this item.

8. MTC Planning Committee - Approval

8a. <u>22-1253</u> MTC Resolution No. 4530: Transit-Oriented Communities (TOC) Policy

Adoption of TOC Policy.

Action: MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Kara Vuicich

Attachments: 13a 22-1253 1 MTC Reso 4530 Transit-Oriented Communities Poli

cy.pdf

13a 22-1253 2 MTC Resolution 4530.pdf

13a 22-1253 3 Transit-Oriented Communities Policy Presentation.p

df

13a 22-1253 4 Transit-Oriented Communities Policy Corresponden

ce.pd

13a Public Comment Vicki Tripoli.pdf

13a Public Comment Amy Thomson.pdf

13a Public Comment Anita Lusebrink.pdf

13a Public Comment Baty Family.pdf

13a Public Comment Bill Kirsch.pdf

13a Public Comment Coalition of Organizations.pdf

13a Public Comment Dave Severy.pdf

13a Public Comment Debbie Notkin.pdf

13a Public Comment Edgardo Laber.pdf

13a Public Comment Geoffrey Morgan.pdf

13a Public Comment Gordon Douglas.pdf

13a Public Comment Linda Henigin.pdf

13a Public Comment Robert Means.pdf

13a Public Comment Robert Raburn.pdf

The following members of the public were called to speak:

Jeremy Levine, Inclusive Lafayette;

Jonathon Kass, SPUR;

Corey Smith, Housing Action Coalition;

Lisa Vorderbrueggen, Building Industry Association of the Bay Area;

Keith Diggs, YIMBY Law;

Warren Wells;

Greg Wolff, City of Lafayette;

Robert Wood, San Jose State University;

Amy Thomson, TransForm;

Ken Chan, Housing Leadership Council of San Mateo County;

Jonathan Singh, East Bay for Everyone;

Kenneth Javier-Rosales, SV@Home;

Adina Levin, Peninsula for Everyone;
Derek Sagehorn, East Bay for Everyone;
Ali Sapirman, Housing Action Coalition;
Justine Marcus, Enterprise Community Partners;
Aaron Eckhouse, California YIMBY;
Louis Mirante, Bay Area Council;
Jordan Grimes, Greenbelt Alliance; and
Ja'Nai Aubry, NPH.

Written public comments were received from: BART; East Bay for Everyone; BIA|Bay Area; and a combined letter from TransForm, SPUR, Enterprise Community Partners, Generation Housing, Greenbelt Alliance, California YIMBY, 350 Bay Area, East Bay Housing Organizations, Non-Profit Housing Association of Northern California, Inclusive Lafayette, Contra Costa Young Democrats, East Bay for Everyone, Council of San Mateo County, and SV@Home.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Canepa and second by Commissioner Liccardo, MTC Resolution No. 4530: Transit-Oriented Communities Policy was referred to the Commission for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Liccardo, Chair Spering, Vice Chair Ahn, Commissioner Canepa and Commissioner Schaaf

Absent: 2 - Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci and Commissioner Fleming

9. Public Comment / Other Business

10. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the MTC Planning Committee will be Friday, October 14, 2022 at 9:40 a.m. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.