

# Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

# **Meeting Minutes**

# **Programming and Allocations Committee**

Committee Members:

David Rabbitt, Chair Gina Papan, Vice Chair Margaret Abe-Koga, Cindy Chavez, Federal D. Glover, Nate Miley, Hillary Ronen, Amy R. Worth Non-Voting Member: Dina El-Tawansy

Wednesday, October 12, 2022

9:45 AM

**REMOTE** 

# **Call Meeting to Order**

#### 1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 7 - Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Glover,

Commissioner Miley, Vice Chair Papan, Commissioner Ronen, and Commissioner

Worth

Absent: 1 - Chair Rabbitt

Non-Voting Member Absent: Commissioner El-Tawansy
Ex Officio Voting Member Present: Commission Chair Pedroza and Vice Chair Josefowitz
Ad Hoc Non-Voting Members Present: Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner
Giacopini and Commission Spering

#### 2. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Commissioner Glover and seconded by Commissioner Chavez, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Miley, Vice Chair

Papan, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 2 - Commissioner Abe-Koga and Chair Rabbitt

**2a.** <u>22-1360</u> Minutes of September 14, 2022 meeting

Action: Committee Approval

**2b.** 21-1626 Quarterly Report of the Executive Director's Delegated Authority Actions

<u>Action:</u> Information <u>Presenter:</u> Kenji Anzai

Page 1 Printed on 11/9/2022

**2c.** 22-1432 MTC Resolution No. 4475, Revised. 2021 Transportation Improvement

Program (TIP) Amendment 2021-28

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Adam Crenshaw

2d. 22-1452 MTC Resolution Nos. 4202, Revised, 4505, Revised, and 4540. Revisions

to the One Bay Area Grant programs (OBAG 2 and 3), including

programming approximately \$69 million in Regional Program funds and adoption of the Carbon Reduction Program (CRP), which commits \$60 million to Climate Initiatives projects and programs as part of the OBAG 3

regional investment strategy.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Mallory Atkinson

2e. 22-1448 MTC Resolution Nos. 4523, Revised and 4524, Revised. Allocation of \$48

million in FY 2022-23 Transportation Development Act (TDA) and State Transit Assistance (STA) funds to seven operators and MTC to support

transit operations and capital projects in the region.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Kenji Anzai

**2f.** <u>22-1459</u> MTC Resolution 4519, Revised. An update to programming for the Transit

Transformation Action Plan to reflect the programming of funds to transit

operators for the Clipper BayPass program.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: William Bacon

**2g.** 22-1473 MTC Resolution Nos. 4095, Revised and 4250, Revised. Rescission of

\$700,000 in Regional Measure 2 (RM2) funds from the environmental phase of Bay Bridge Forward 2020 suite of projects, and allocation of \$700,000 in RM2 funds to the construction phase of the West Grand HOV/Bus-Only Lane (Phase 2) project, part of Bay Bridge Forward (BBF).

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Kenneth Kao

**2h.** 22-1527 MTC Resolution No. 4547 and 4273, Revised. Low-Carbon Transit

Operations Program (LCTOP) Corrective Action Plan (CAP)

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Anne Spevack

## 3. Regional

**3a.** 22-1283

MTC Resolution Nos. 4537 and 4130, Revised. Major Projects Advancement Policy and Transit and Intercity Rail Capital Program Framework.

i. Adoption of the Regional Major Project Advancement Policy (MAP); and
 ii. Revision to MTC's Cap and Trade Framework updating the regional
 Transit and Intercity Rail Capital Program Framework.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Kenneth Folan

Written public comments were received from Innovation Tri-Valley Leadership Group, Remi Tan, SPUR and Seamless Bay Area, and Tri-Valley San Joaquin Valley Regional Rail Authority.

The following members of the public were called to speak: Jason Baker (Silicon Valley Leadership Group), Priya Mather (BART), Peter Strauss (Friends of DTX and Board of San Francisco Transit Riders), Janice Li (BART Vice President), Denise Bouillerce (Stanford Healthcare), Vincent Hames Courtney (Northern California District Council of Laborers), Nate LeBlanc (San Jose Downtown Association), Bruce Agid (TJPA former Chair), Melisaa Hernandez (Tri-Valley-San Joaquin Valley Regional Rail Authority and Mayor of the City of Dublin), Charley Lavery (International Union of Operating Engineers Local 3), John Arantes (SEIU Local 1021), Adina Levin (Friends of Caltrain and Friends of DTX), Veronica Vargas (Tri-Valley/San Joaquin Valley Regional Rail Authority and Mayor Pro Tem of the City of Tracy), Eric Schatmeier, Rebecca Saltzman (BART President), Sal Cruz (AFSCME Local 3993), Gerald Cauthen (Bay Area Transportation Working Group), Howard Wong (Sierra Club), Richard Hedges, Devon Ryan (Caltrain Government Affairs), Tiffany Rodriguez (San Jose State University Associated Students), and Val Menotti (BART).

Commissioner Abe-Koga arrived during agenda item 3a.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Worth and seconded by Vice Chair Papan, the Committee approved the referral of MTC Resolution Nos. 4537 and 4130, Revised to the Commission for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Miley, Vice Chair Papan, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 1 - Chair Rabbitt

Abstain: 1 - Commissioner Chavez

**3b.** <u>22-1475</u> Regional Transportation Measure: Transit Operating Fiscal Challenges

and Advocacy for State Support of Transit

An update on transit operating fiscal challenges to inform FY 2022-23 State Budget Advocacy and future regional transportation measure

discussions.

Action: Information

Presenter: Melanie Choy and William Bacon

Written public comments were received from Genesis, and Michael

Abramson.

The following members of the public were called to speak: Peter Strauss (San Francisco Board Voices for Transportation, and Adina Levin (Friends

of Caltrain and Friends of DTX).

# 4. Information

**4a.** 22-1466 California Transportation Commission (CTC) and State Funding Programs

Update

Update on California Transportation Commission (CTC) and state funding

programs under the CTC's purview.

<u>Action:</u> Information

<u>Presenter:</u> Kenneth Kao

### 5. Public Comment / Other Business

# 6. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Programming and Allocations Committee is scheduled to be held on Wednesday, November 9, 2022 remotely and by webcast. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.