News Releases

News Release
Thursday, December 10, 2009

OAKLAND, CA — The four traffic lanes at the far right-hand side of the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge toll plaza will be closed from 10 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 12, until 1 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 13, to accommodate the installation of new tolling equipment.

News Release
Monday, November 16, 2009

OAKLAND, CA — The Bay Area Toll Authority (BATA) has added a fourth public hearing to receive public testimony on options for a proposed toll increase on the seven state-owned Bay Area toll bridges.

News Release
Monday, November 2, 2009

OAKLAND, CA  — The Bay Area Toll Authority (BATA) will host the first of three public hearings at 1:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 4, at the Joseph P.

News Release
Wednesday, October 28, 2009

OAKLAND, CA — Do you know people who want to contribute their time and talent to improve Bay Area transportation?

News Release
Thursday, September 24, 2009

OAKLAND, CA — Don't own a car but eager to get out to a park or beach you thought was inaccessible? Trying to reduce your carbon footprint? Now you can get out to your favorite trails and find new ones, all on public transit.

News Release
Monday, September 21, 2009

OAKLAND, CA — The Metropolitan Transportation Commission today introduced new software, dubbed MobileRater™, for hand-held computers to help city and county public works departments and others improve the maintenance of local streets and roads by accelerating the collection of pavement distress d

News Release
Monday, August 31, 2009

OAKLAND, CA — Festivities were held August 29 to mark the official opening of a new pedestrian/bicycle path on the George Miller, Jr. Memorial Bridge leading from Benicia to Martinez.

News Release
Monday, August 31, 2009

OAKLAND, CA — When westbound motorists cross the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge after the upcoming Labor Day weekend closure, some longtime fixtures in the toll plaza area will be conspicuous by their absence.

News Release
Thursday, August 13, 2009

OAKLAND, CA — Bay Area transportation officials are urging commuters to review their plans for getting to and from work in the wake of today’s announcement by a key BART union that its members will go out on strike beginning Monday, August 17.

Related:
News Release
Monday, August 10, 2009

OAKLAND, CA  — The 511 Transit page at www.transit.511.org has been cited by Government Computer News as one of 10 great government Web sites nationwide for 2009.