News Releases

News Release
Thursday, September 25, 2008

OAKLAND, CA — The Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) this week committed $91 million in voter-approved Regional Measure 2 bridge toll money to help finance an $890 million extension of the BART system to Fremont’s Warm Springs district.

News Release
Monday, September 8, 2008

OAKLAND, CA — The Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) — in partnership with Caltrans and the California Highway Patrol — has once again expanded the Bay Area’s award-winning 511 traveler information service by adding a feature that allows drivers to use their cell phones to summon non-em

News Release
Wednesday, July 30, 2008

OAKLAND, CA — The California Highway Patrol, Golden Gate Division (CHP, GGD) — in partnership with Caltrans District 4 and the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) — today unveiled new roadside advisory signs along Interstate 880 in the East Bay as part of the kickoff for

Related:
News Release
Tuesday, June 17, 2008

OAKLAND, CA — The Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) this month teams up with AC Transit to begin offering residents of select transit-oriented development (TOD) complexes around the East Bay unlimited free travel on AC Transit’s local and transbay buses for a time.

Related:
News Release
Thursday, June 12, 2008

OAKLAND, CA — Bay Area commuters can circle next Thursday, June 19, on their calendars and start planning a free trip on transit.

News Release
Monday, June 9, 2008

OAKLAND, CA — Can you spend $30 billion in 10 minutes?

News Release
Wednesday, May 14, 2008

OAKLAND, CA — Traffic delays along several of the Bay Area’s most congested freeway corridors declined last year, the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) and Caltrans reported today, though regionwide congestion — driven by several years of steady job growth and measured with greater pre

News Release
Friday, May 9, 2008

OAKLAND, CA — Monday, May 12, is the beginning of Bike to Work Week and Thursday, May 15, is the San Francisco Bay Area’s 14th annual Bike to Work Day, a celebration that promotes bicycling as a healthy, fun and viable form of transportation.

News Release
Friday, May 2, 2008

OAKLAND, CA — Bicyclists across the country are gearing up for National Bike Month in May.

News Release
Thursday, May 1, 2008

OAKLAND, CA — There’s still time to recognize outstanding transportation projects or a favorite transit operator by nominating them for one of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission’s (MTC) 2008 Transportation Awards.