The Bay Area Toll Authority (BATA) operates the Bay Area’s seven state-run toll bridges. Together, they make up an important network for vehicle traffic across the Bay.

Karl Nielsen

The Bay Area’s seven state-owned toll bridges form a transportation network, allowing residents to move across the Bay to home, work and to points of interest. They are the backbone of vehicular transportation around the Bay Area.

Learn more about the history, toll information and bicycle and pedestrian access for each structure on the pages for each bridge.

View the BATA Toll Schedule for Toll Bridges. effective January 1, 2022.

Archival photo of a toll plaza
Historic Traffic & Revenues

Bridge toll crossing dollars pay for bridge, highway and transit projects all around the Bay Area. See the past two decades’ worth of traffic and tolls.

See traffic and revenue history.
Damage to the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge after the Loma Prieta earthquake
Toll Bridge Seismic Retrofit Program

The 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake spurred the seismic retrofit of all seven state-owned Bay Area toll bridges. Half of every $6 regular toll pays for this program.