Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan (MJHMP)

MTC and its partners are developing a plan  to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk to human life and property from natural hazards like wildfires or earthquakes.

Karl Nielsen

Hazard mitigation is a process that identifies hazards, and analyzes communities and critical infrastructure, then develops a plan to reduce the effects of those hazards.

Plan Goals

The Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan (MJHMP) addresses different hazards in the Bay Area, and what recovery might look like. It serves as a starting place for dialogue on public policies that can limit the potential loss of life, property damage, and environmental harm from natural disasters.

And by planning ahead, the MJHMP can help the Bay Area’s economic recovery from those disasters.

The current 2021 Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Draft Plan was available for public comment from March 5 to March 19, 2021.

FEMA’s Planning Process

The Federal Emergency Management Agency outlines four core steps in planning for disaster in their Hazard Mitigation Planning Process.

Learn more.
Resources for Local Governments

The Association of Bay Area Governments’ Resilience Group has collected resources for local agencies involved in Hazard Mitigation planning.

See Hazard Mitigation & Adaptation Planning resources.

Federal Grant Funding

After MTC’s plan has been approved by FEMA and adopted by MTC and Bay Area partner agencies, federal mitigation grant funding then becomes available to those agencies.

Ultimately, steps will be taken on the local level to mitigate future disasters. These short- and long-term strategies include planning, policy changes, programs, projects and other activities.

The current plan will have a 5-year lifespan; the next update will be submitted to FEMA in 2026.

Staff Contact

Stephen Terrin, Emergency Coordinator
Phone: 415-778-6605


The MJHMP is developed jointly by MTC and the following partner agencies:

  • Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District
  • Central Contra Costa County Transit Authority
  • Marin County Transit District
  • Napa Valley Transportation Authority
  • Santa Rosa CityBus
  • Solano County Transit
  • Water Emergency Transportation Authority
  • Western Contra Costa Transit Authority
Ten Types of Hazards

The MJHMP addresses ten types of hazards that pose a threat in the Bay Area:

  • Climate change
  • Dam failure
  • Drought
  • Earthquake
  • Flood
  • Landslide
  • Pandemic
  • Public safety power shutoff
  • Tsunami
  • Wildfire