The Committee to House the Bay Area (CASA)

The Committee to House the Bay Area (CASA) was brought together by MTC and the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) to help identify game-changing solutions to the Bay Area’s housing crisis.

The Committee to House the Bay Area (CASA) was assembled by MTC and ABAG to tackle the current housing crisis. The work began in 2017, and the CASA Compact was adopted in 2018.

Leaders from public, private and nonprofit sectors developed this plan to address the region’s housing affordability and displacement challenges.

The 3Ps Framework - Solutions to the Housing Crisis

CASA developed a package of housing solutions grouped in three categories:

  • Protection for current residents to prevent displacement
  • Preservation of existing housing that is affordable to lower- and middle-income residents
  • Production of new housing at all income levels, especially affordable housing

The CASA team effort kicked off a stronger and more comprehensive focus on housing solutions for the Bay Area. The framework continues to play an important role for dozens of housing-related bills being considered by the state Legislature.

The CASA Compact Report

The final product from the CASA team was the CASA Compact, which outlined 10 actionable and measurable steps. It also created a new entity called the Bay Area Housing Finance Authority (BAHFA) that could raise significant new revenue for housing.

Find more information on CASA history, the leadership team and committee structure in the “What is CASA?” presentation.

Bay Area Housing Finance Authority (BAHFA)

The Bay Area Housing Finance Authority (BAHFA) was created by the CASA Compact. The goal? To bring new funds to the region to support housing projects. BAHFA is considered key in financing future housing projects.

Expanded Regional Housing Portfolio

BAHFA has launched a new plan to tackle the region’s housing crisis head on with next steps for the future of Bay Area housing plans. Learn about the plans and goals for this cross-agency effort.

Read "Momentum for Lasting Solutions."
CASA Leadership & Roster

CASA Co-Chairs and Convener for Steering and Technical Committees

  • Fred Blackwell
  • Leslye Corsiglia
  • Michael Covarrubias
  • Steve Heminger

CASA Steering Committee Members

  • Ariane Hogan
  • Bob Alvarado
  • Dave Cortese
  • Dave Regan
  • David Rabbitt
  • Ellen Wu
  • Grace Crunican
  • Jake Mackenzie
  • Julie Combs
  • Keith Carson
  • Kofi Bonner
  • Libby Schaaf
  • London Breed
  • Matthew Franklin
  • Michael Matthews
  • Rebecca Prozan
  • Sam Liccardo
  • Stuart Cohen

CASA Technical Committee Members

  • Abby Thorne-Lyman
  • Adhi Nagraj
  • Aimee Inglis
  • Amie Fishman
  • Andreas Cluver
  • Bill Witte
  • Bob Glover
  • Caitlyn Fox
  • Denise Pinkston
  • Derecka Mehrens
  • Doug Shoemaker
  • Jacky Morales Ferrand
  • Janice Jensen
  • Jennifer Hernandez
  • Dr. Jennifer Martinez
  • Jonathan Fearn
  • Joseph Villarreal
  • Joshua Howard
  • Ken Rich
  • Linda Mandolini
  • Lynn Hutchins
  • Mark Kroll
  • Mary Murtagh
  • Matt Schwartz
  • Matt Vander Sluis
  • Michele Byrd
  • Ophelia Basgal
  • Randy Tsuda
  • Rich Gross
  • Robert Apodaca
  • Scott Littlehale
  • Tomiquia Moss

CASA Co-Chairs Proposed "Action Ideas"

Presented to the Technical Committee on September 27, 2017, this proposal helped determine which ideas the CASA work groups should develop.

Housing-focused Publications in the San Francisco Bay Area

This literature review was prepared by Estolano LeSar Perez Advisors on behalf of MTC and CASA to establish information and research on regional housing trends.