Priority Conservation Area (PCA) Grants

Priority Conservation Area (PCA) grants help local governments, park districts, utility districts and other agencies acquire or enhance properties designated as PCAs.

Jeff Tangen

A big part of quality of life in the Bay Area is the mix of vibrant urban areas and nearby parks, recreation areas, farms, ranches, vineyards and other open spaces.

To preserve this mix, MTC established Priority Conservation Area (PCA) grants. PCA Grants form a conservation component of the One Bay Area Grant (OBAG) program, and help local agencies acquire or enhance properties designated PCAs.

The Priority Conservation Area program is being refreshed in 2022. Learn more about Priority Conservation Areas.

One Bay Area Grants

The One Bay Area Grant guides MTC’s distribution of federal transportation funding to projects and programs throughout the Bay Area, including PCAs.

Learn more.
Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG)

MTC works with ABAG to build healthier, stronger communities. ABAG adopts PCAs that are nominated by local agencies.

Visit the ABAG website.

PCA Grant Program by Region

OBAG's PCA component is split into two sections:

  • North Bay Program: Marin, Napa, Solano and Sonoma counties distribute funds to projects that support PCAs.
  • Peninsula, Southern and East Bay Counties Program​: Alameda, Contra Costa, San Francisco, San Mateo and Santa Clara counties compete for PCA grants in a program managed by MTC with cooperation from ABAG and the California Coastal Commission.

PCA Grant Program Funded Projects

See the projects that have been funded in the OBAG 1 and OBAG 2 grant cycles: