Active Transportation Program

California’s Active Transportation Program (ATP) taps state and federal funds to support programs that make walking and biking better travel options for Bay Area residents.

Joey Kotfica

MTC works hard to increase walking and biking options across our region — so that more people can make more trips without using a car.

California’s Active Transportation Program (ATP) draws both state and federal funds to provide a total of about $220 million each year for bike and pedestrian projects across California.

The program allows cities, counties, transit agencies and other public agencies to compete for grants to build bicycle/pedestrian paths, install bike racks, and pay for other projects or programs that make walking or biking easier, safer and more convenient.

Staff Contact

Karl Anderson, Funding Policy and Programs
Phone: (415) 778-6645

Active Transportation Program History

MTC administers the Bay Area’s share of ATP money. We work with local agencies to help them compete for funding through the statewide program.

MTC has programmed funds from Cycles 1 through 5. Since 2014, $325 million has been awarded to projects in the MTC region through the State and Regional ATP competitions - view details on these projects.

2023 Active Transportation Program — Cycle 6

The next funding opportunity from ATP is approaching. The California Transportation Commission (CTC) expects to adopt statewide guidelines for ATP Cycle 6 in March 2022, with the statewide call for projects to open shortly thereafter. MTC will consider regional guidelines for the next ATP cycle in February 2022, with CTC approving MTC’s guidelines in March. The call for projects for the regional program will overlap with the state program.

Cycle 6 will cover fiscal years 2023/24 through 2026/27. Approximately $220 million is available in the statewide component and $37 million in MTC’s Regional component. Deadline for applications is expected to be June 15, 2022. Please refer to CTC ATP webpage for the draft guidelines.

2021 Active Transportation Program – Cycle 5

The California Transportation Commission (CTC) approved the State and MTC’s regional guidelines at the March 25, 2020 Meeting. Immediately following the state and regional guideline adoption, the state released the call for projects. Applications for both the statewide and regional ATP were due by September 15, 2020.

MTC adopted the Regional ATP program of projects on April 28, 2021 — see the full program as transmitted to the California Transportation Commission. The California Transportation Commission approved MTC’s project list on June 23-24, 2021.

Refer to the Caltrans ATP webpage for the latest program information.

More Information

See the Related Documents section of this page for program documents and guidelines, and refer to the Caltrans ATP web page for additional information.

ATP Partnership

MTC and its Active Transportation Working Group collaborate with county transportation agencies, Bay Area transit agencies, the California Department of Transportation, the California Transportation Commission and interested members of the public to develop the regional ATP.

Requirements and Waivers

MTC requires project sponsors seeking regional ATP grants to put up matching funds totaling at least 11.47% of the grant amount.

The match requirement may be waived for projects that benefit low-income communities, communities of color, Safe Routes to School projects or stand-alone non-infrastructure projects. The statewide ATP grant program does not require a local match.


State law requires at least 25% of ATP funds benefit disadvantaged communities.

MTC defines these Equity Priority Communities as those large concentrations of:

  • Minority residents
  • Household incomes under 200% of the federal poverty level
  • Limited English-proficient households
  • Zero-vehicle households
  • Seniors age 75 or older
  • Residents with a disability
  • Single-parent families
  • Rent-burdened households

View an interactive map of where the Equity Priority Communities (formerly known as Communities of Concern) are located.