Twenty-one Commissioners are the decision-makers at MTC. They shape policies to guide transportation and development in the Bay Area, and fund projects and programs to turn those policies into reality.

Flōr Haus

The Commissioners also serve as the policy board for several MTC-affiliated agencies, including the Bay Area Toll Authority (BATA), the Service Authority for Freeways and Expressways (SAFE) and the Bay Area Housing Finance Authority (BAHFA).

Full Commissioner Roster

Get contact information, biographies and professional website links for the Commissioners.

While the majority of MTC’s Commissioners are local elected officials — city council members, mayors or county supervisors — who wear several hats, serving at the regional level on MTC is considered an important leadership assignment.

The full Commission typically meets on the fourth Wednesday of the month, convening as MTC as well as BATA, and sometimes as SAFE or as BAHFA.

The standing committees that perform much of the essential work here at MTC comprise at least nine Commissioners and also meet monthly, typically in the second week of the month. These committees forward recommendations to the full Commission in the form of numbered resolutions.

Members of the public are welcome and encouraged to attend MTC meetings. You also can watch many MTC meetings remotely via the web in real time, or watch an archived version.

Meet the Chair & Vice Chair

Chair Alfredo Pedroza and Vice Chair Nick Josefowitz

Re-elected as chair of MTC’s governing Commission in February 2023 for a two-year term (through February 2025), Alfredo Pedroza served as MTC’s Vice Chair for the previous two years and has represented Napa County on the Commission since 2017.

Pedroza first was elected to the Napa City Council in 2012, and then appointed in 2014 by then-Gov. Jerry Brown to represent the Fourth District on Napa County’s Board of Supervisors. Pedroza won election to a full term on the Board of Supervisors in 2016 and was re-elected in November 2020. A Napa native, Pedroza is a graduate of Sonoma State University, where he earned a degree in Business Administration with a minor in Economics. He is the second Napa County Supervisor to lead the Commission.

Commissioners in February 2023 also re-elected Nick Josefowitz to serve as Vice Chair for the next two years. Josefowitz has served since 2017 as the San Francisco Mayor’s appointee to the Commission.  Former Chief Policy Officer at San Francisco-based SPUR, he previously founded and managed a solar energy development company, and served as a member of the BART Board of Directors. He also has served on the boards of Capitol Corridor, the Water Emergency Transportation Authority (WETA) and the San Francisco Environment Commission.

How Commissioners are Selected

The MTC Commission is made up of 21 Commissioners — 18 of them voting members — representing all of the nine Bay Area counties.

Currently, 17 of the 21 commissioners are local elected officials: county supervisors, mayors or city council members.

Alameda and Santa Clara counties each have three representatives, one selected by the county Board of Supervisors; one selected by the mayors of the cities in each county; and one appointed by the mayors of the counties’ largest cities — Oakland and San Jose.

San Francisco effectively is represented by three members as well, one appointed by the Board of Supervisors; one by the mayor; and a third selected by the Bay Conservation and Development Commission (BCDC), whose representative is required by state law to be a San Francisco resident.

Contra Costa and San Mateo counties each have two representatives, one selected by each county's Board of Supervisors; and the other selected by the mayors of the cities in each county.

Marin, Napa, Solano and Sonoma counties each appoint one MTC commissioner to represent both their Board of Supervisors and the cities within each county.

The Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) also selects a local elected official from its board to sit on MTC.

MTC’s three non-voting members represent:

  • U.S. Department of Transportation
  • U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • California State Transportation Agency

Commissioners serve concurrent four-year terms, while the chair and vice-chair are elected every two years. The current term began in February 2019, and ends in February 2023.

Executive Committee

View the current membership of the MTC Executive Committee.

Additional Commissioner Responsibilities

Bay Area Housing Finance Authority (BAHFA)

The Bay Area Housing Finance Authority (BAHFA) is a first-of-its-kind regional authority created to address the Bay Area’s chronic housing challenges.

Bay Area Toll Authority (BATA)

BATA collects toll funds and uses this money to fund bridge maintenance and operations as well as major roadway and transit projects in the toll bridge corridors and approach routes, and to support Bay Area transit operations.

Service Authority for Freeways and Expressways (SAFE)

SAFE manages the Freeway Service Patrol tow trucks and the emergency roadside call box programs.

Related Meetings