Electric Vehicles

Electric Vehicles

News and Stories

Marin Home and Garden Expo to Host Free Electric Vehicle Test-Drive Event
News Release
Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Visitors to the Marin Home and Garden Expo on Saturday, May 21 and Sunday, May 22 will be able to test drive some of the newest models of electric cars at the Marin County Fairgrounds and Exhibit Hall, located at 10 Avenue of the Flags in San Rafael’s Marin County Civic Center complex.

Fairfield Total Home & Garden Show to Host Free Electric Vehicle Test-Drive Event
News Release
Wednesday, April 13, 2016

OAKLAND, CA — Visitors to the Fairfield Total Home and Garden Show on Saturday, April 16 and Sunday, April 17 will be able to test drive some of the newest models of electric cars at the Specialty

Contra Costa Spring Home & Garden Show to Host Free Electric Vehicle Test-Drive Event
News Release
Wednesday, March 30, 2016

OAKLAND, CA — Visitors to the Contra Costa Spring Home and Garden Show on Saturday, April 2 and Sunday, April 3 will be able to test drive some of the newest models of electric cars at the Concord

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County Spring Home & Garden Show to Host Free Electric Vehicle Test-Drive Event
News Release
Wednesday, March 16, 2016

OAKLAND, CA — Visitors to the Sonoma County Spring Home and Garden Show on Saturday, March 19 and Sunday, March 20 will be able to test drive some of the newest models of electric cars at the Sonom

Free Electric Vehicle Test-Drives Return to Bay Area
News Release
Monday, October 19, 2015

SAN FRANCISCO, CA — The Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC), the Bay Area Air Quality Management District and the Center for Sustainable Energy this month kick off a new series of public t

EV Video Wins 2015 Emmy Award
Top Stories
Thursday, July 9, 2015

Witnessing the public excitement surrounding the Experience Electric events convinced MTC news videographer Mark Jones to lease a plug-in Ford hybrid EV in 2014, and document his positive experienc

“Experience Electric” Campaign Rolls Into San Jose
Top Stories
Tuesday, May 26, 2015

The electric vehicle (EV) campaign that charged through the Bay Area all summer and fall made one of its final stops in at St. James Park in San Jose on October 25, 2014.

Walnut Creek to Host Free Electric Vehicle Test-Drive Event
News Release
Friday, October 24, 2014

OAKLAND, CAVisitors to the Walnut Creek Farmers’ Market on Sunday, Oct. 26, can test-drive some of the newest models of electric cars on North Locust Street.

San Jose, VivaFest to Host Free Electric Vehicle Test-Drive Event
News Release
Friday, October 24, 2014

OAKLAND, CA Visitors to VivaFest’s Dia de los Muertos celebration on Saturday, Oct.

Marin to Host Free Electric Vehicle Test-Drive Event
News Release
Monday, October 6, 2014

OAKLAND, CA The “Experience Electric – The Better Ride” campaign will offer free test drives of some of the newest electric cars on Saturday, Oct. 11, from 12 noon to 5 p.m.

Documents

Experience Electric Campaign Report
MTC_EXEL_Final_Report.pdf (10.05 MB)
Climate Initiatives Program Evaluation Report 2015
CIP Evaluation Summary Report_7-13-15_FINAL.pdf (2.02 MB)

Media

Experience Electric: SF International Auto Show 2015
Photo Gallery
Sunday, November 8, 2015

The Experience Electric campaign rolled into the San Francisco International Auto Show, staged at the Moscone Center just before Thanksgiving 2015.

"Experience Electric" Treasure Island
Photo Gallery
Thursday, October 8, 2015

Experience Electric kicked off a second wave of free ride-and-drive events at Treasure Island in October 2015.

My EV Experience
Video
Monday, December 29, 2014

All year, Bay Area residents have been given a chance to try out electric vehicles (EVs) at ride-and-drive events.

"Experience Electric" event in San Jose
"Experience Electric" Campaign Rolls Into San Jose
Photo Gallery
Saturday, October 25, 2014
The electric vehicle (EV) campaign that charged through the Bay Area all summer and fall made one of its final stops in at St. James Park in San Jose on October 25, 2014.
"Experience Electric" in Cupertino
"Experience Electric" in Cupertino, September 20, 2014
Photo Gallery
Saturday, September 20, 2014
The Experience Electric campaign, sponsored by MTC together with the Bay Area Air Quality Management District and a consortium of electric vehicle (EV) organizations, rolled into Cupertino on Septembe
"Experience Electric" event in Berkeley
"Experience Electric" Campaign Gets Berkeley Charged Up
Photo Gallery
Saturday, June 28, 2014
The "Experience Electric" campaign made its second stop of the summer at the Berkeley farmer's market in June, providing East Bay electric enthusiasts with the opportunity to get behind the wheel of t
"Experience Electric" event in San Francisco
"Experience Electric" Campaign Electrifies the Marina Green
Photo Gallery
Saturday, May 17, 2014
The first of more than 20 "Experience Electric" ride-and-drive events brought the latest plug-in and hybrid cars to San Francisco's Marina Green.
"Experience Electric" program kickoff at Luscious Garage in SF
"Experience Electric" Campaign Kicks Off at San Francisco Garage
Photo Gallery
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
Officials from MTC and the Bay Area Air Quality Management District joined with electric vehicle (EV) enthusiasts, EV entrepreneurs, representatives of auto manufacturers and the media on May 13, 2014