Bay Area Metro Awards

2019 Winners

See the full list of 2019 winners, with accompanying video profiles.

About the Metro Awards

The first Bay Area Metro Awards were presented on June 6, 2019, at a ceremony in Oakland recognizing 13 people, projects, organizations and local governments advancing solutions to ease the Bay Area’s housing crisis, improve the transportation system or make the nine-county region more resilient.

Launched jointly by MTC and the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) in September 2018 with a call for nominations, the new  awards program honors positive impacts on the Bay Area’s mobility, affordability, resilience and community; and recognizes efforts that make the region a better place to live, work and play. 

“We honor this year’s winners to say thank you for the work they are doing and we hope that the winners' stories will inspire others to strive for excellence in their daily tasks,” said then-ABAG President and MTC Commissioner David Rabbitt. 

Collaboration stood out as a key theme for the new awards program since many of the winners were based on effective partnerships: From a team of transit agencies’ heroic efforts during the North Bay fires, to scientists working to minimize the impact of an earthquake, to volunteers picking up trash from our beaches, to our region coming together to say yes to funding for our bay and transportation infrastructure. The awards even recognized transit agency management and a labor union working together in a training program.

Winners received a specially designed Bay Area Metro Award at the recognition ceremony.  A six-member jury that included members of MTC's and ABAG’s governing boards, as well as staff and a community representative, met to consider some 80 nominations in early 2019.