The current section is News & Media
News Release

MTC Seeks Nominations for Its Transportation Awards Program

Nomination Deadline is May 9, 2008

OAKLAND, CA — When it comes to transportation, the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) wants to know: What moves you? Is your bus driver the friendliest, most helpful person on earth? Has an organization in your community worked hard to beautify the view along your daily commute? Have bike-friendly routes or newfound groups of riders gotten you back on two wheels? It’s time to recognize those exceptional projects, groups and people who have made it easier, safer, greener or just more fun to get around the Bay Area by nominating them for an MTC award. Past winners have included volunteers, community leaders and government employees dedicated to improving transportation for Bay Area residents.

MTC is the regional transportation planning agency for the nine-county San Francisco Bay Area and its awards program recognizes individuals, projects and organizations that develop new and better ways to help people get where they’re going each day. With the award theme of “Excellence in Motion,” MTC is seeking nominations for the Grand Award as well as Awards of Merit to recognize worthy efforts, regardless of their specific transportation focus. Examples of past Award of Merit winners include programs that make more efficient use of the transportation network, groups that work to inform and educate the public about transportation issues, individual or group efforts to improve transit service or boost smart growth, and efforts to promote the use of bicycling or other alternatives to driving alone.

MTC is also seeking nominations for five special award categories:

  • The Miriam Gholikely Award recognizes extraordinary accomplishments in the field of community service, volunteerism, advocacy, leadership or minority affairs.
  • The Doris W. Kahn Accessible Transportation Award honors efforts that have resulted in significant improvement in transportation services for the elderly or persons with disabilities.
  • The David Tannehill Special Employee Award is intended for a bus driver, train operator, road maintenance worker or other transportation employee who goes beyond the call of duty.
  • The Greta Ericson Distinguished Service Award recognizes long-term, quality leadership in the transportation profession.
  • And the John F. Foran Legislative Award honors a state or federal legislator whose work has had a positive effect on transportation.

The deadline for all nominations is Friday, May 9, 2008. Winners will be selected by a jury representing MTC and the community. Visit the MTC Web page at to submit an application online or to download an application form. Call the MTC Public Information Office at (415) 778-6757 for more information.


Pam Grove: (415) 778-6706 or Catalina Alvarado: (510) 817-5783