Commissioners | What Is MTC? | About MTC


Our 21 commissioners are the decision-makers at MTC. They also serve as the policy board for MTC's two affiliated agencies, the Bay Area Toll Authority and Service Authority for Freeways and Expressways. 

They shape policies to guide transportation and development in the Bay Area, and fund projects and programs to turn those policies into reality.

Commission meeting in 375 Beale St. Board Room
Peter Beeler
MTC commissioners meet in the Bay Area Metro Center board room on October 26, 2016.

While the majority of our commissioners are local elected officials — city council members, mayors or county supervisors — who wear several hats, serving at the regional level on MTC is considered an important leadership assignment. The full Commission typically meets on the fourth Wednesday of the month, convening as MTC as well as the Bay Area Toll Authority, and sometimes as the Service Authority for Freeways and Expressways

The standing committees that perform much of the essential work here at MTC are comprised of at least nine commissioners and also meet monthly, typcially in the second week of the month. These committees forward recommendations to the full Commission in the form of numbered resolutions.

Members of the public are welcome and encouraged to attend MTC meetings. You also can listen to many MTC meetings remotely via the web in real-time, or listen to an archived version. Go to "Meetings" in our What's Happening section of this website to see a calendar of meetings, view meeting materials and listen to the discussions.  

Get contact information, biographies and professional website links for the commissioners.

Elected as chair of MTC's governing Commission in February 2017 for a two-year term (through February 2019), Jake Mackenzie brings to the position two years as vice chair and has served for more than eight years as Sonoma County's representative on the Commission. He was first elected to the Rohnert Park City Council in 1996 and now serves as the city's mayor.

A Scotsman by birth and an agricultural scientist by training, Mackenzie also serves on the boards of the Sonoma County Transportation Authority/Regional Climate Protection Authority, the Sonoma Marin Area Rail Transit District (SMART), and the Association of Bay Area Governments.

MTC in February 2017 elected Alameda County Supervisor Scott Haggerty to serve again as the Commission’s vice chair, a position he held from 2007 to 2009 before serving as chair from 2009 to 2011. Haggerty was first elected to the Alameda County Board of Supervisors in 1996, and was named the county’s MTC representative in 2000. He also is a board member of the Bay Area Air Quality Management District, the Association of Bay Area Governments and the Oakland Alameda County Coliseum Authority. Haggerty represents Alameda County on the National Association of Counties, and also serves as a member of the Alameda County Transportation Commission, San Joaquin Regional Rail Commission, Livermore Amador Valley Transit Authority, and Tri-Valley Transportation Council. 

Our Commission is made up of 21 commissioners — 18 of them voting members — representing all of the nine Bay Area counties.

Currently, 17 of the 21 commissioners are local elected officials: county supervisors, mayors or city council members.

Alameda and Santa Clara counties each have three representatives, one selected by the county Board of Supervisors; one selected by the mayors of the cities in each county; and one appointed by the mayors of the counties’ largest cities — Oakland and San Jose.

San Francisco effectively is represented by three members as well, one appointed by the Board of Supervisors; one by the mayor; and a third selected by the Bay Conservation and Development Commission, or BCDC, whose representative is required by state law to be a San Francisco resident.

Contra Costa and San Mateo counties each have two representatives, one selected by each county's Board of Supervisors; and the other selected by the mayors of the cities in each county.

Marin, Napa, Solano and Sonoma counties each appoint one MTC commissioner to represent both their Board of Supervisors and the cities within each county.

The Association of Bay Area Governments' (ABAG) also selects a local elected official from its board to sit on MTC.

MTC’s three nonvoting members represent:

  • U.S. Department of Transportation
  • U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • California State Transportation Agency

Commissioners serve concurrent four-year terms, while the chair and vice-chair are elected every two years. The current term began in February 11, 2015, and ends in February 2019. Read more about our current Commission. 

(L-R) Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf, San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo

(L-R) Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf (photo: Noah Berger), San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo (photo: Mark Jones)

One measure of MTC's rising profile is the fact that two of the region's three big-city mayors currently sit on MTC: Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf, representing her city, and San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo, representing his city. Read the release, "Two Big-City Bay Area Mayors on the Commission Roster."

What Is MTC?