Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan | Operate + Coordinate | Our Work

Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan

MTC and its partners are developing a hazard mitigation plan to reduces loss of life and property by minimizing the impact of disasters in the Bay Area.

Aerial photo of Alviso Slough River
Karl Nielsen

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) recommends that MTC and its partners create a hazard mitigation plan (HMP), a guidance document designed to help communities and agencies with their disaster resiliency efforts.

The HMP will address ten hazards (climate change, dam failure, drought, earthquake, flood, landslide, pandemic, public safety power shutoff, tsunami and wildfire) and serve as a catalyst for dialogue on public policies needed to mitigate the potential loss of life, property damage, and environmental degradation from natural disasters, while accelerating Bay Area economic recovery from those disasters.

Under the leadership of a planning committee, the HMP planning process will include qualitative and semi-quantitative risk assessment and a mitigation action plan to reduce risks. The mitigation measures will include education and awareness, structure and infrastructure projects, preparedness and response, and local plans and regulations.

Project Timeline

The planning process is expected to take four months, and a public draft will be available for review and comment in early 2021. After a final draft has been approved by FEMA and adopted by MTC and partner agencies, certain types of mitigation grant funding will then become available to the agencies. The plan will have a 5-year lifespan; an update will need to be resubmitted to FEMA in 2026.

Staff Contact

For questions about the HMP or to provide feedback, please contact Stephen Terrin at

The HMP is being developed jointly by MTC and the following partner agencies:

  • Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District
  • Central Contra Costa County Transit Authority
  • Marin County Transit District
  • Napa Valley Transportation Authority
  • Santa Rosa CityBus
  • Solano County Transit
  • Water Emergency Transportation Authority
  • Western Contra Costa Transit Authority